Well, I have succeeded in my coffee quest! I can now take my coffee black thanks to a simple ingredient….DRUMROLL PLEASE……

LICORICE!

For those of you that don’t like licorice (I’m talking about black licorice because, let’s face it, red licorice aka Twizzlers is just sugar), well, sorry. You really do need to like licorice if you want to try this. I really don’t know how I came upon this idea a few months ago. However, I thought that using licorice root in my coffee could help reduce my desire for sugar/sweetener in my coffee. I told my mom about this idea, and she recalled that she had some licorice powder at home that she had bought from India. If anyone of you knows my mom, you would probably say “Of course she had licorice powder!”. My mom is the bearer of most things 🙂

So I tried it…and it was awesome! What I liked most about using licorice powder was that it didn’t cover up the taste of coffee like sugar/sweetener. I started to really appreciate the taste of coffee. Then one glorious day, I was at a restaurant for brunch, and I tried my coffee black…and I liked it! I wanted to actually finish all of my coffee! Mission accomplished 🙂 After that, I still preferred to put licorice powder in my coffee, however, after a month of two, even that desire was reduced. Now I just “treat” myself with the licorice powder.

No, you don’t have to go to India to get this. You can use licorice powder or licorice root, your choice. I love Amazon Prime and hopefully you do too 🙂 The powder might seem pricy, but a little goes a long way. Hopefully this helps any of you looking to make this change!

Sorry if any of you feel this way…I don’t, but I thought it was too funny not to post 🙂

Yum!

Yum!

