Whoops!  I know I have been a little MIA, so please do forgive me!  I’m in my last week of Whole30!  Time really has flown, but I’m excited for this post because it shows all the goodies I have been making!  As I mentioned in my last update, I wanted to try some new recipes to spice up my menu.  Sometimes it’s hard to find recipes where I can remove the butter, cheese, a soy product, dressings, or sugar, and be left with something tasty.  So where do I find recipes?  So far, I have used the following sources for finding new recipes:

1. Pinterest - If you haven’t used Pinterest, it’s time to join in on the fun :)  There are so many great ideas for recipes, home decoration, organization, jewelry, crafts, you name it!  It’s so fun and visual.  And of course, Pinterest has an iPhone app which I definitely use about 5 minutes before I fall asleep…which leads to an additional 30 minutes of being awake.  I have a board for Whole30 Recipes on Pinterest.  This week I’m planning to make these avocados with eggs in the middle from one of my pins:

2. It Starts with Food - This is the original Whole30 plan written by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig, outlining the reasons for living Whole30 lifestyle, and what you should do after 30 days.  It also has cool recipes in the back of the book!  While I haven’t made any recipes directly from the book, I have borrowed ingredients and made my own.  It does a great job explaining how to cook meats.  I grew up in a vegetarian household, so this was very helpful for me!  I made the Citrus Chicken recipe this past weekend:

3. Well Fed - This is another great book by Melissa Joulwan.  This is pretty much a straight-up recipe book.  I have made the olive oil mayo and roasted cumin carrots recipes which were both amazingly delicious!  I had no idea mayo could be made at home so simply!  I also didn’t realize the delicious flavor that cumin and cinnamon can bring out from roasted carrots :)  This book is really great, and it has beautiful pictures!  I made these roasted cumin carrots a couple weeks ago (yes, I used purple carrots).  This past weekend I made some more Olive Oil Mayo (it tastes like real mayo!), Cauliflower Rice Pilaf, and Nori Chips!

4.  Nom Nom Paleo app:  This is both a blog and an app!  I had “liked” them on Facebook, and saw that they had an app with lots of recipes.  It was $4.99 (I typically try not to spend too much money on apps), however, it had rave reviews!  I figured if I were to spend less than $5 on a recipe book, I would be getting a deal, so therefore I bought this app :)  I recently bought this, so I haven’t made anything yet, however, I can tell that it’s a winner.  It has great step-by-step instructions (with pictures!!) from making simple concoctions like bone broth to more more involved recipes like Stir-Fried Kelp Noodles.  It also has cool features including a shopping list where you can add ingredients directly from recipes and some Paleo 101 for those new to the lifestyle.  Also, the great thing about an app is that there are eventually updates!  So I’m hoping that more recipes and features will be added. After I got the app, I checked out the blog which also has great recipes (you can also read the blog directly from the app!).

5.  Whole30 / Paleo Blogs:  I have been enjoying reading other blogs from like-minded folks.  Oftentimes, they also have great recipes!  Some of the blogs I have been following are: Civilized Caveman Cooking; Smart, Sexy, Paleo; Everyday Paleo; and Mark’s Daily Apple.  This week, I’m planning to use my new slow cooker (YAY!) to make some Crock Pot Stuffed Peppers from Civilized Caveman Cooking.

So…this is how I’m venturing into a new world.  I’m 3 and a half weeks into my Whole30, and it’s been really great!  I think for my first time around, I’m doing pretty well.  However, I’m happy that I’m incorporating some more variety for this last week.  I’m looking forward to eating some of my new creations this week :)