So I completed my first week of Whole30 last night, and I’m really glad I didn’t just dive into it.  I had spent time preparing foods in the previous months, getting used to eating less sugar, and creating a general food routine.  That helped me SO MUCH in the past week, and it made it much easier to adapt to Whole30.  At this point, I am just following the general rules.  I have had some questions, and the Whole30 Forum has been helpful, especially for my common question “Can I eat ______?”.

I am going to admit that I have been breaking one rule.  I have been weighing myself so I can keep up with my Pounds and Inches (I will update that tomorrow to account for the last 2 weeks).  I did sneak a weigh-in yesterday, and I liked what I saw!  It’s probably the most weight I’ve lost in a week, so it looks like avoiding those small temptations has really helped!  I have also been tracking my food intake and exercise with SlimKicker on my iPhone (they don’t have it on Android yet).  This is an awesome app because it has cool challenges and you can increase levels and feel that you are being rewarded for you work!  There’s also a neat social component to it.  It’s also free!  I’m going to do a review and giveaway associated with them in the near future.

I also finally started reading “It Starts with Food: Discover the Whole30 and Change your Life in Unexpected Ways” (ISWF for short).  This has been a really great read.  It is very simplified, yet informative.  It also keeps me motivated to keep going and realize that I’m making a positive impact for my body and life.

Not having coffee was hard for the first couple days, but I got used to it.  I do still miss it, but I am enjoying trying new types of teas!  I actually went to a tea tasting at Adagio Tea with a friend this past weekend.  I learned some interesting and new things about different types of tea and the importance of keeping it at specific temperatures.

I do like that I have a general routine now for my daily menu, however, I am getting a little bored with it.  I’m hoping to try some  new recipes from Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People Who Love to Eat, and I will be sure to report on those soon!

Also, there’s just a day and a half left for my Door to Door Organics Giveaway, so be sure to enter if you are in their delivery area!

