So I have a confession to make.  I have been debating, postponing, and excuse making for the past couple weeks about if/when I’m going to start the Whole30 program.  Yes that’s right, “if” was a question for me.  Here are my reasons for possibly not doing Whole30 at all:

1. I love love love my morning coffee.  I have been able to sacrifice cream and milk.  The hardest things for me to sacrifice was Splenda.  As you all know, I’m a total sugar addict, and I just couldn’t have coffee black.  I tried, I really did, but it just didn’t work 😦  Oh, I also love having a diet soda a couple times a week as well.

2. My weekly digressions have included cupcakes, Taco Bell, delicious pie, cheese, and some wine.  I have still lost weight and inches while including these digressions.  I was still less irritable than I had been before I started this lifestyle…so why bother?  I felt good enough, right?

3. I started thinking of events where it would be difficult or embarrassing to make special requests.

Then I realized that (1) I could have herbal tea, which I do enjoy.  I’m planning to start off with green tea so I can “decaffeinate” myself.  (2) Yes, I felt good “enough”, but maybe I can feel even better!  Maybe this 30 day challenge can make me even more energetic, even less irritable, and help me lose even more weight…who knows? (3) I realized that I can work around any events in the next 30 days.  There really isn’t anything I have planned that will get in the way of the program. And now I have control to not plan anything super difficulty to work around until August 15th.  I already have a bonus “reward” set in place on August 16th to get a mani/pedi with a glass of champagne with some girlfriends 🙂

I did “indulge” in some Coke Zero for dinner last night, so I had my last hurrah, haha.  Overall, I’m really excited about this.  I feel like I’ve been preparing to venture on this journey for a month and a half, and I should be OK.  I’m least worried about my hunger cravings and more worried about my morning coffee craving.  I’d really rather have it this way rather than having lots of hunger cravings.  I’m looking forward to sharing how this goes with all of you!

