Since I’ve started adhering to the Whole30 guidelines, most of my meals have been homemade.  However, I have definitely found great options when I dine out.  The tricky part is that I don’t always know whether the meat is grass-fed or organic, and sometimes sugar may be added to different sauces or marinades.  While I want to be super rigid and perfectionistic about the program, I have to be realistic.  Sometimes life doesn’t allow for me to be constantly prepared.  Sometimes, I will have to eat out, and that is ok…at least it is to me 🙂  I do my best to find healthy options, and the rest of the time I try to eat at home.

I would have to say that this has to be my favorite “eating out” meal so far.  I went to Mia Francesca in Lakeview this past weekend, and I ate some delicious salmon!  It was served on a bed of asparagus and topped with tomato, onions, and avocado with a lemon wedge.  It was such a great summer treat on a very warm day.  The Francesca restaurants change their menus every couple weeks, and I just saw that this was no longer on the menu as of today!  I’m so glad I ate it before the menu changed.

I also had a wonderful lunch at my mom’s house a couple weeks ago.  She has been so wonderful and encouraging throughout my journey.  My mom is an amazing artist, and this definitely extends to her creativity and presentation with food.

Lunch consisted of hard-boiled eggs, a veggie salad, boiled swiss chard, cooked parsnips, plain beets, mangos, peaches, and cherries.

Baby spinach, romaine lettuce, cabbage, bell peppers, red onions, tomatoes, radishes, strawberries, walnuts, and homemade sun-dried tomato dressing (yes, homemade!  My mom rocks 🙂 )

Boiled swiss chard with olive oil and garlic

Boiled parsnips. My mom added apple cider vinegar when it was done, and then she added some beets to give it some color! (She’s so creative!)

So there you go, two delicious meals!  What are some creative things you have done to “ordinary” fruits and/or veggies?

