One of my favorite vegetables is the white potato…unfortunately, it is not Whole30 or Paleo approved :(  Obviously it’s a huge source of starchy carbohydrates, so I have had to nix that from my diet.  But alas!  There is a substitute of sorts.  I had heard of mashed cauliflower when I did the South Beach Diet back in 2004, but I never tried making it.  Recently, I started reading through Well Fed: Paleo Recipes For People Who Love To Eat.  This is an amazing cookbook which is based upon Whole9/Whole30.  They have a lot of meal prep information as well as many recipes including mashed cauliflower!  So I decided to finally try it for dinner last night.

Here are the ingredients you need (the only thing I didn’t have were chives, and I used ghee instead of coconut oil):

  • 1 bag (16 ounces) frozen cauliflower florets
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed (about 1 teaspoon)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • salt and black pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons dried chopped chives
First you boil the cauliflower according to the instructions and drain it.  Make sure it isn’t too watery.

Then you heat up the garlic, oil, milk, salt, and pepper in a pan.

Throw the cauliflower in the processor, scraping down the sides.  Then add the heated milk mixture.  It should look like this, except maybe without my finger swipe imprint, hehe.  I’m the only one that was going to eat it, so no guilt :)

And here it is on my plate with my dinner!  I got some chile garlic tilapia from Olivia’s Market (right around the corner from The Dailey Method).  It’s such a nice little grocery store in Bucktown!

Here is my husband’s dinner.  I made him a delicious avocado pasta that I have made in the past.  It is definitely not Whole30 approved, but it sure is yummy!

So how does it compare to mashed potatoes? Well…they are not mashed potatoes, however, they are still really yummy, and I will definitely be making them again.  I thought about putting a dollop of ghee on top, but then I figured that might be a little much.  While I was a little afraid of the taste from the coconut milk, I was surprised that I actually liked it!  It gave a nice little kick to the dish.

I made enough to save for later, which is always great!  I am learning to plan ahead a lot more with this new lifestyle.  It’s going to be a process, but I am really enjoying it!

What interesting recipes have you tried out to substitute for your not as healthy favorite dishes?

