In the revered words of LMFAO…I do work out!  For the first time in my life, I am exercising regularly just because.  Growing up, I was definitely not athletic.  BUT, I was really good at Red Rover 🙂  Seriously though, I was lucky if I ran faster than an 11 minute mile.  I did try to challenge this statistic by running the 2006 Chicago Marathon.  While I was grateful to cross that off my bucket list and that I did not slip, I didn’t necessary beat any specific time.  I was OK with this, and I have accepted that I am definitely not a runner.  Also, the evening of the race I had a shooting pain originating from my right heel that still fires up every now and then.  In addition to this, having flat feet, and a bone that occasionally decides to pop out of place in my foot, cardio exercise like running, kickboxing, Zumba, etc are a little too much for my feet to handle.  I have gotten it checked out by a bunch of docs, and the verdict is that my feet just kinda stink (they smell too, I’m sure).  I have orthotics, but they’re not magic, so I have to be careful.  I loved using my feet as an excuse to NOT exercise, but I am ambulatory, so I knew there had to be other options.

I tried swimming, but showering then swimming then showering and washing my hair, etc was just too time consuming and inconvenient for me.  Pilates was great, but I still wanted something a little more intense.  Also, when I was trying all these different options, I had no discipline to be consistent.  One day, I remembered some awesome classes I had taken at The Dailey Method in 2010.  It was actually the first Groupon I ever bought!  I remembered loving the classes, but at that time, I still didn’t have the self-discipline or right attitude to keep it up.  So, what happened this time around?   Well…I’ll make you sweat (pun intended) until the next post to find out 🙂  What motivates you to work out on a regular basis?

Here’s a video describing The Dailey Method to pique your curiosity:

